Chapter Development Plan

Chapter Work Plan


2021-2022 BOARD OF DIRECTORS

The Board of Directors is responsible for the overall administration and operation of the Chapter. To this end, the Board has the authority to conduct any activity consistent with the intent of the Chapter Bylaws and the Bylaws of APA. The APA Virginia Chapter Board meets on a quarterly basis. 


Executive Committee Members:

President
Andrew W. Hopewell, AICP, CZA
Director of Planning & Community Development, Town of Culpeper
president@apavirginia.com

Past-President
Earl Anderson, AICP
Senior Planner, York County
past.president@apavirginia.com

VP Chapter Affairs
Donald Whipple, AICP
Chief Planner, City of Hampton
chapter.affairs@apavirginia.com

VP External Affairs
Nick Rogers, AICP, CZA
Zoning Amendment Coordinator & Principal Planner, Arlington County
external.affairs@apavirginia.com

VP Inclusion
Robert Narvaez, AICP
inclusion@apavirginia.com

VP Legislative and Policy Affairs
M. Tyler Klein, AICP
Senior Planner, Frederick County
legislation@apavirginia.com

VP Membership
Josh Gillespie, AICP
Director of Community Development, Louisa County
membership@apavirginia.com

VP Sections
Gina DiCicco, AICP
Land Conservation Specialist, Virginia Department of Conservation and Recreation
sections@apavirginia.com

Professional Development Officer
John Harbin, AICP
Senior Regional Planner, Hampton Roads Planning District Commission
pdo@apavirginia.com

Secretary
Brian Wegener, AICP, CZA
Principal Planner, Loudoun County
secretary@apavirginia.com

Treasurer
Jason Espie, AICP
Principal Planner, EPR PC
treasurer@apavirginia.com


Standing Committee Chairs & Board Appointees:

FAICP Committee Chair
Lorna Parkins, FAICP
faicpchair@apavirginia.com

Planning Directors Chair
Tevya Griffin, AICP
Director of Planning and Codes Compliance, City of Williamsburg
info@apavirginia.com

Development Chair
Brad Shelton, AICP
Director of Planning, Michael Baker International
sponsorship@apavirginia.com

YPG Chair
Caitlin Aubut
Planner, York County
ypg@apavirginia.com

CPAP Chair
Will Cockrell, AICP
Planner, EPR PC
cpap@apavirginia.com

Faculty Representative
Suzanne Moomaw, PhD
Chair & Associate Professor, Urban and Environmental Planning, University of Virginia 
info@apavirginia.com

Planning Officials Development Officer
Mike MacKenzie
Director, Land Use Education Program, Center for Urban and Regional Analysis at Virginia Commonwealth University
podo@apavirginia.com

Student Representative

Vacant : Interested applicants, please contact Andrew W. Hopewell, AICP, CZA at president@apavirginia.com for more information 


Non-Voting Members:

Communications Director

Julie Chop

Principal Planner, City of Portsmouth 

communications@apavirginia.com

Planners Advocacy Network Director

Shubha Punase

Project Manager, Prince George's County  

pan@apavirginia.com

Faculty Representative

Tom Sanchez, PhD, Professor, Urban Affairs and Planning, Virginia Tech

info@apavirginia.com

Student Representatives

Vacant

Newsbrief Editor

Colie Touzel, Public Involvement & Title VI Coordinator, Fredericksburg Area MPO | GWRC 

newsbrief@apavirginia.com

Social Media Coordinator 

Jackie Wilkens, Marketing Coordinator, project:HOMES

socialmedia@apavirginia.com

mailto:newsbrief@apavirginia.com


Staff:

Eldon James

APA Virginia Staff

admin@apavirginia.com

Martina James Nalley
APA Virginia Staff
martina@apavirginia.com

Gillian Saul
APA Virginia Staff