Chapter Development Plan

Chapter Work Plan


2021-2022 BOARD OF DIRECTORS

The Board of Directors is responsible for the overall administration and operation of the Chapter. To this end, the Board has the authority to conduct any activity consistent with the intent of the Chapter Bylaws and the Bylaws of APA. The APA Virginia Chapter Board meets on a quarterly basis. 


Executive Committee Members:

President
Earl W. Anderson, ACIP
Senior Planner, York County
president@apavirginia.com

President Elect
Andrew Hopewell, AICP
Director of Planning and Community Development, Town of Culpeper
presidentelect@apavirginia.com

VP Chapter Affairs
Donald Whipple, AICP
Chief Planner, City of Hampton
chapter.affairs@apavirginia.com

VP External Affairs
Nick Rogers, AICP, CZA
Zoning Amendment Coordinator & Principal Planner, Arlington County
external.affairs@apavirginia.com

VP Legislative and Policy Affairs
M. Tyler Klein, AICP
Senior Planner, Frederick County
legislation@apavirginia.com

VP Membership
Josh Gillespie, AICP
Director of Planning and Development Services for Orange County, Virginia
membership@apavirginia.com

VP Sections
Gina DiCicco, AICP
Land Conservation Specialist, Virginia Department of Conservation and Recreation
sections@apavirginia.com

Professional Development Officer
John Harbin, AICP
Senior Regional Planner, Hampton Roads Planning District Commission
pdo@apavirginia.com

Secretary
Whitney Sokolowski, P.E.
Transportation Engineer, Kimley-Horn and Associates
secretary@apavirginia.com

Treasurer
Jason Espie, AICP
Principal Planner, EPR PC
treasurer@apavirginia.com

Standing Committee Chairs & Board Appointees:

FAICP Committee Chair
Lorna Parkins, FAICP
faicpchair@apavirginia.com

Planning Directors Chair
David P. Maloney, AICP
Director of Planning, Hanover County
info@apavirginia.com

Planning for Inclusion Chair
Robert Narvaez, AICP
inclusion@apavirginia.com

YPG Chair
Ashley Catterton
Planner, Henrico County
ypg@apavirginia.com

CPAP Chair
Will Cockrell, AICP
Planner, EPR PC
cpap@apavirginia.com


Faculty Representative
Diane L. Zahm, PhD, AICP
Associate Professor, Virginia Tech
info@apavirginia.com

Faculty Representative
Damian Pitt, PhD, AICP
Associate Professor & Program Chair, Urban and Regional Studies and Planning, Virginia Commonwealth University
info@apavirginia.com

Student Representative

Harrison Premen

Masters Student, UVA


Student Representative

David Huaman

Masters Student, VT


At-large Appointees

PODO

Michael Chandler, Ph.D

Executive Government Advisor, The Berkley Group



Development Chair

Brad Shelton, AICP

Director of Planning, Michael Baker International

sponsorship@apavirginia.com


Land Use Education Program (LUEP) Chair

Mike MacKenzie

Research Associate, Center for Urban and Regional Analysis (CURA)

luep@apavirginia.com


Communications Director

Julie Chop

Planner, City of Portsmouth 

communications@apavirginia.com


Divisions Liaison

Robert Kerns

Development Division Chief, City of Alexandria


Newsbrief Editor

Kristen Walentisch

Associate Planner, Arlington County

newsbrief@apavirginia.com


Staff & Non-voting Members:

Eldon James
APA Virginia Staff
admin@apavirginia.com

Martina James Nalley
APA Virginia Staff
martina@apavirginia.com

Paige Tate
APA Virginia Staff
paige@apavirginia.com