Chapter Leadership

The Board of Directors is responsible for the overall administration and operation of the Chapter. To this end, the Board has the authority to conduct any activity consistent with the intent of the Chapter Bylaws and the Bylaws of APA. The APA Virginia Board meets on a quarterly basis. The following are meeting materials from previous meetings, and other business related items of the Chapter.

Board of Directors

EXECUTIVE COMMITTEE MEMBERS: 

Earl W. Anderson, AICP 
President
Senior Planner, York County 
president@apavirginia.com
Ph: (757) 890-3497 

M. Tyler Klein, AICP 
VP Chapter Affairs 
Planner, Frederick County - Department of Planning & Development
chapter.affairs@apavirginia.com
Ph: (540) 665-5651 

Brandie Schaeffer, LEED-AP 
VP Legislative & Policy 
Planning Director, Town of Warrenton 
legislative@apavirginia.com
Ph: (703) 300-0107 

Nick Rogers, AICP, CZA
VP External Affairs 
Prinicipal Planner, Arlington County
external.affairs@apavirginia.com
Ph: (540) 287-3956

Donald Whipple, AICP, ASLA 
VP Sections 
Chief Planner, City of Hampton Community Development 
sections@apavirginia.com
Ph: (757) 728-5235 

Emily J. Gibson 
Secretary 
Planning Director, Montgomery County 
secretary@apavirginia.com
Ph: (540) 394-2148 

Jason Espie, AICP 
Treasurer 
Project Manager, Renaissance Planning 
treasurer@apavirginia.com
Ph: (540) 435-0718 

Andrew Hopewell, AICP 
Professional Development Officer 
Assistant Chief of Planning, Fauquier County 
pdo@apavirginia.com
Ph: (540) 422-8210 

George M. Homewood, FAICP CFM 
Past President 
Planning Director, City of Norfolk
pastpresident@apavirginia.com
Ph: (757)664-4770 

STANDING COMMITTEE CHAIRS/BOARD APPOINTEES

James May, AICP 
Membership Director 
Senior Planner, Rockingham County 
membership@apavirginia.com
Ph: (540) 564-1513 

David P. Maloney, AICP 
Planning Directors Chair 
Director of Planning, Hanover County 
dpmaloney@co.hanover.va.us
Ph: (804) 365-6171

Julie Pastor, FAICP 
FAICP Committee Chair 
Retired 
faicpchair@apavirginia.com
Ph: (703) 771-2654 

Whitney Sokolowski, PE 
YPG Co-Chair 
Transportation Engineer, Kimley-Horn and Associates, Inc. 
ypg@apavirginia.com
Ph: (757) 213-8602 

Koty Gray 
YPG Co-Chair 
County Planner, New Kent County 
ypg@apavirginia.com
Ph: (757) 585-1877 

Diane L. Zahm, PhD, AICP 
Faculty Representative 
Associate Professor, Virginia Tech 
dzahm@vt.edu
Ph: (540) 231-7503 

Damian Pitt, PhD, AICP 
Faculty Representative 
Assistant Professor, Urban and Regional Studies and Planning Virginia Commonwealth University 
dpitt@vcu.edu
Ph: (804) 933-9410 

Elizabeth Nowak 
Student Representative 
Masters Student, UVA 
Edn6mx@virginia.edu

Soumaya Ben Miled 
Student Representative 
Masters Student, VCU 

Robert Narvaez, AICP 
Planning for Inclusion (formerly ECDC) 
inclusion@apavirginia.com
Ph: (703) 746-5416 

AT-LARGE APPOINTEES: 

Suzanne Lee Farmer, AICP 
Divisions Director/Liaison 
Senior Project Planner, Vanasse Hangen Brustlin, Inc. 
lfarmer@vhb.com
Ph: (571) 389-8162 (work)  Ph: (202) 812-2702 (cell) 

Michael Chandler, Ph.D. 
PODO  Director of Education, Land Use Education Program, Virginia Tech 
rmchan@vt.edu
Ph: (804) 794-6236 

Jonah Fogel, Ph.D. 
LUEP Director, Land Use Education Program Virginia Tech 
jfogel@vt.edu
Ph: (804 )527-4237 

Ann Marie Maloney 
Communications Director 

Lorna Parkins, AICP 
Development Director 
Vice President, Transportation Planning Michael Baker International
sponsorship@apavirginia.com
Ph: (804) 287-3176 

NON-VOTING MEMBERS: 

Newsbrief Editor 
Vacant - contact VP for Membership if you are interested
newsbrief@apavirginia.com

Social Media Manager 
Vacant - contact VP for Membership if you are interested

TPD Liaison 
Mackenzie Jarvis 
Alternative Transportation Manager, Virginia Tech 
mrj14@vt.edu
Ph: (540) 231 2701 

STAFF: 

Eldon James 
APA Virginia Staff 
admin@apavirginia.com
ejames7@earthlink.net
Ph: (540) 907-2008 

Martina James Nalley 
APA Virginia Staff 
martina@bellatrixcg.com
Ph: (540) 809-7505

Sarah Pentecost 
APA Virginia Staff 
sarah@bellatrixcg.com
Ph: (434) 941-0942