Chapter Development Plan

Chapter Work Plan


2023-2024 BOARD OF DIRECTORS

The Board of Directors is responsible for the overall administration and operation of the Chapter. To this end, the Board has the authority to conduct any activity consistent with the intent of the Chapter Bylaws and the Bylaws of APA. The APA Virginia Chapter Board meets on a quarterly basis.


Executive Committee Members:

President
Andrew W. Hopewell, AICP, CZA
Director of Planning & Community Development, Town of Culpeper
president@apavirginia.com

Past-President
Earl Anderson, AICP
Chief of Development Services, York County
past.president@apavirginia.com

VP Chapter Affairs
Josh Gillespie, AICP
Director of Community Development, Louisa County
chapter.affairs@apavirginia.com

VP External Affairs
Julie Chop, CZA
Principal Planner, City of Portsmouth
external.affairs@apavirginia.com

VP Inclusion
Position Pending New Appointment

VP Legislative and Policy Affairs
Courtney Powell, AICP
Urban and Community Planning Manager, WGI
legislation@apavirginia.com

VP Membership
Donald Whipple, AICP
Chief Planner, City of Hampton
membership@apavirginia.com

VP Sections
David Samba
Project Manager, Kimley-Horn
sections@apavirginia.com

Professional Development Officer
John Harbin, AICP
Executive Director, Chesapeake Land Bank Authority
pdo@apavirginia.com

Secretary
Brian Wegener, AICP, CZA
Program Manager, Loudoun County
secretary@apavirginia.com

Treasurer
Jason Espie, AICP
Principal, Revive Strategies LLC
treasurer@apavirginia.com


Standing Committee Chairs & Board Appointees:

FAICP Committee Chair
Lorna Parkins, FAICP
faicpchair@apavirginia.com

Planning Directors Chair
Tevya Griffin, AICP
Director of Planning and Codes Compliance, City of Williamsburg
info@apavirginia.com

Development Chair
Brad Shelton, AICP
Director of Planning, Michael Baker International
sponsorship@apavirginia.com

Emerging Planning Professionals (EPP) Chair
Ian Newman, AICP
Regional Transportation Planner, Northern Virginia Transportation Authority
ypg@apavirginia.com

CPAP Chair
Will Cockrell, AICP
Planner, EPR PC
cpap@apavirginia.com

Faculty Representative
Jim Smither
Assistant Professor, Virginia Commonwealth University
info@apavirginia.com

Student Representative
Position Pending New Appointment

Planning Officials Development Officer
Michael Chandler
Interim Director, Land Use Education Program, Center for Urban and Regional Analysis at Virginia Commonwealth University
podo@apavirginia.com


Non-Voting Members:

Communications Director

Nick Rogers, AICP, CZA

Zoning Amendment Coordinator & Principal Planner, Arlington County

communications@apavirginia.com

Planners Advocacy Network Director

Shubha Punase

Project Manager, Prince George's County

pan@apavirginia.com

Faculty Representatives

Suzanne Moomaw, PhD, Chair & Associate Professor, Urban and Environmental Planning, University of Virginia

info@apavirginia.com

Virginia Tech Position Pending New Appointment

info@apavirginia.com

Newsbrief Editor

LaToya Gray-Sparks, Assistant Historian, Virginia Department of Historic Resources

newsbrief@apavirginia.com

Social Media Coordinator

Jackie Wilkens, Economic Development Assistant, Powhatan County

socialmedia@apavirginia.com


Staff:

Eldon James

APA Virginia Staff

admin@apavirginia.com

Martina James Nalley
APA Virginia Staff
martina@apavirginia.com

Gillian Saul
APA Virginia Staff

gillian@bellatrixcg.com