The Board of Directors is responsible for the overall administration and operation of the Chapter. To this end, the Board has the authority to conduct any activity consistent with the intent of the Chapter Bylaws and the Bylaws of APA. The APA Virginia Chapter Board meets on a quarterly basis. 

2019-2020 BOARD OF DIRECTORS

Executive Committee Members: 

Earl W. Anderson, AICP
President
Senior Planner, York County
president@apavirginia.com

George M. Homewood, FAICP, CFM
Past President
Director of City Planning, City of Norfolk
past.president@apavirginia.com

Donald Whipple, AICP
VP Chapter Affairs
Chief Planner, City of Hampton
chapter.affairs@apavirginia.com

Tara D. Reel
VP Legislative & Policy
Transportation & Transit Planner, City of Virginia Beach
legislation@apavirginia.com

Nick Rogers, AICP, CZA
VP External Affairs
Zoning Amendment Coordinator & Principal Planner, Arlington County
external.affairs@apavirginia.com

Alison Eubank, AICP
VP Sections
Placemaking Planner, City of Hampton
sections@apavirginia.com

John Harbin, AICP
VP Membership
Principal Planner, City of Chesapeake
membership@apavirginia.com

Amanda McGee
Secretary
Regional Planner, Roanoke Valley-Alleghany Regional Commission
secretary@apavirginia.com

Jason Espie, AICP
Treasurer
Principal Planner, EPR PC
treasurer@apavirginia.com

Andrew Hopewell, AICP
Professional Development Officer
Assistant Chief of Planning, Fauquier County
pdo@apavirginia.com

Standing Committee Chairs & Board Appointees:

David P. Maloney, AICP
Planning Directors Chair
Director of Planning, Hanover County
info@apavirginia.com

Julie Pastor, FAICP
FAICP Committee Chair
Retired
faicpchair@apavirginia.com

Whitney Sokolowski
YPG Co-Chair
Transportation Engineer, Kimley-Horn and Associates
ypg@apavirginia.com

Koty Gray
YPG Co-Chair
Site Plan/Subdivision Agent, City of Hampton
ypg@apavirginia.com

Diane L. Zahm, PhD, AICP
Faculty Representative
Associate Professor, Virginia Tech
info@apavirginia.com

Damian Pitt, PhD, AICP
Faculty Representative
Associate Professor & Program Chair, Urban and Regional Studies and Planning, Virginia Commonwealth University
info@apavirginia.com

Michael Salgueiro
Student Representative
Masters Student, UVA
info@apavirginia.com

Colie Touzel
Student Representative
Masters Student, VT
info@apavirginia.com

Robert Narvaez, AICP
Planning for Inclusion
Lead Associate, Markon Solutions
inclusion@apavirginia.com

At-large Appointees:

Divisions Liaison
Vacant

Michael Chandler, Ph.D.
PODO
Executive Government Advisor, The Berkley Group
info@apavirginia.com

Lorna Parkins, AICP
Development Chair
Vice President, Transportation Planning, Michael Baker International
sponsorship@apavirginia.com

Communications Director
Vacant

Staff & Non-voting Members:

Eldon James
APA Virginia Staff
admin@apavirginia.com

Martina James Nalley
APA Virginia Staff
martina@apavirginia.com

Sarah Pentecost
APA Virginia Staff
sarah@apavirginia.com

Kristen Walentisch
Newsbrief Editor
Associate Planner, Arlington County
newsbrief@apavirginia.com