Chapter Leadership


The Board of Directors is responsible for the overall administration and operation of the Chapter. To this end, the Board has the authority to conduct any activity consistent with the intent of the Chapter Bylaws and the Bylaws of APA. The APA Virginia Chapter Board meets on a quarterly basis.

Executive Committee Members:

Andrew W. Hopewell, AICP, CZA
Director of Planning & Community Development, Town of Culpeper

Earl Anderson, AICP
Chief of Development Services, York County

VP Chapter Affairs
Josh Gillespie, AICP
Director of Community Development, Louisa County

VP External Affairs
Julie Chop, CZA
Manager of Current Planning & Zoning, City of Portsmouth

VP Inclusion
Bryce Johnson
Senior Planner, Loudoun County

VP Legislative and Policy Affairs
Courtney Powell, AICP
Urban and Community Planning Manager, WGI

VP Membership
Donald Whipple, AICP
Chief Planner, City of Hampton

VP Sections
David Samba
Project Manager, Kimley-Horn

Professional Development Officer
John Harbin, AICP
Executive Director, Chesapeake Land Bank Authority

Brian Wegener, AICP, CZA
Program Manager, Loudoun County

Jason Espie, AICP
Principal, Revive Strategies LLC

Standing Committee Chairs & Board Appointees:

FAICP Committee Chair
Lorna Parkins, FAICP

Planning Directors Chair
Tevya Griffin, AICP
Director of Planning and Codes Compliance, City of Williamsburg

Development Chair
Brad Shelton, AICP
Director of Planning, Michael Baker International

Emerging Planning Professionals (EPP) Chair
Ian Newman, AICP
Regional Transportation Planner, Northern Virginia Transportation Authority

CPAP Chair
Will Cockrell, AICP
Planner, EPR PC

Faculty Representative
Jim Smither
Assistant Professor, Virginia Commonwealth University

Student Representative
Anna Meyer
University of Virginia

Planning Officials Development Officer
Michael Chandler

Non-Voting Members:

Communications Director
Nick Rogers, AICP, CZA
Zoning Amendment Coordinator & Principal Planner, Arlington County

Planners Advocacy Network Director
Shubha Punase
Project Manager, Prince George's County

Faculty Representatives
Suzanne Moomaw, PhD, Chair & Associate Professor, Urban and Environmental Planning, University of Virginia

Virginia Tech Position Pending New Appointment

Newsbrief Editor
LaToya Gray-Sparks, Assistant Historian, Virginia Department of Historic Resources

Social Media Coordinator
Social Media Coordinator Position Pending New Appointment


Eldon James
APA Virginia Staff

Martina James Nalley
APA Virginia Staff

Gillian Saul
APA Virginia Staff

Leadership Position Descriptions

Use the link below to learn more about the specific roles and responsibilities of our board members.

Position Descriptions Page